Strip from legislation all references to the Treaty of Waitangi and its recently invented “principles”.

The treaty is a simple document with only three articles. In the First Article the chiefs ceded the country and its sovereignty to Queen Victoria absolutely and forever.

In the Second Article the chiefs were guaranteed ownership of their lands until such time as they would sell them. This was merely extending to them the ordinary property rights that were enjoyed by all British subjects.

In the Third Article all Maori were made British subjects – the first time that this had been extended to a native race.

The treaty did not give Maori any special rights that were not available to others of Her Majesty’s subjects. Any rights stem from being British subjects – the common law, etc. – and not from the treaty itself.

It is only in recent years – a century and a half after the signing of the treaty – that modern day “Treatyists” have decided that this should be given recognition in various statutes beyond its original purpose or meaning. This has been done for no other reason than to give special rights to Iwi.

The Treaty Principles and The Treaty of Waitangi